Kimal

要求

2010年, Kimal 医疗系统从科罗拉多州的Delphi医疗系统获得了IVantage动态输液系统的设计和生产权, 从而将他们的产品线首次扩展到了电子设备和治疗领域。

IVantage™输液系统是一个小型(14cm到16cm)的由电池供能并能安静运行的设备。 它可以被称为是一个动态系统,这就意味着病人在接受静脉注射或通过胃管注射时可以像平时一样行动自如-将他们从传统的大型输液泵对他们的行动限制中解放出来。

在认识到工厂的现有设备并不能支持泵内电子分系统的生产之后,Kimal决定将整个生产线移到英国。因为医疗器械产品的生产和产品质量是密不可分的,要在新的厂址完全复制原产品的生产必然会带来极大的挑战。

Kimal决定让ITL接受这个挑战, 将所有的技术,生产设备,IP和专有技术从美国移到ITL的英国工厂,为其大规模生产做准备。

方法

ITL的运营经理立刻与 Steve Eccles, Kimal的业务单元经理飞到科罗拉多州的工厂考察。 ITL用两天的时间尽可能多的了解产线的信息,确定需要转移的设备和工艺,安排好一切需要运到英国的东西。

ITL生产工艺部门开始生产单元的组建过程,为生产线转移做好准备。

与此同时, ITL在评估生产单元时发现了三个潜在问题,因此ITL升级了母板测试因为这对于设备运行的准确性来说是非常重要的。 这些包括:

  • 电池性能

为了能连续整夜的为病人输液,电池必须能持续使用至少8个小时。测试发现有时它并不能达到这一标准,因此电池测定程序重新被彻底检查了一遍。长时间的调查发现导致此问题的原因是因为在存放过程中电池没有得到必要的维护。 ITL对电池泄漏和故障确定了新的检测方法,顺利的解决了这个问题。

*发射器功能性

旋转泵的发射机制驱动液体通过管道进入病人体内。确保在静脉注射时没有气泡进入病人血管是非常重要的,因为这是致命的。在生产技术要求中有极其严格的“气泡检验”过程,但这种检测机制也并不能保证其100%的安全。ITL开发了一种新的检测过程可以成功的判别小到微米尺寸的气泡。

*母板

在了解到板上的微处理器的运作是Kimal泵安全操作的关键之后。ITL浏览了所有的母板数据以彻底评估检测过程。即使是一个软件或者控制方面的问题,像泵无法如程序设置的那样关闭都会引起灾难性的结果,比如在病人睡觉时导致致命性的血压升高。

结果

虽然这些问题对于ITL来说是一个挑战,但是从确认问题到定位问题对于ITL来说也是非常有价值的,因为他们为检测我们的质量控制过程提供了一个很好的机会。作为一个团队,ITL认识到这是我们最安全的医疗产品之一,对于每一个挑战我们都能成功应对—每一个我们遇到的问题,我们都能解决。

当ITL将转移产线的所有问题都解决之后,在三个月之内, Ivantage 泵就顺利地从美国的工厂转移到了英国,并且已经具备生产能力。在最开始生产的九个月,IVantage泵达到了欧盟医疗器械指令IIb类医疗器械的注册,实施仅两个月产量就有了明显的扩增。

虽然我们在整个过程中遇到了很多问题,但是大家共同努力一起去应对前期的哪怕是微小的工程信息,与以前的生产工程团队沟通。

ITL也在生产,工艺设备投入了很多研发精力,同时也丰富了在电池,母板和测试夹具方面的经验。

You may also like...

News
Explore a world of endless possibilities at MEDICA 2017

Award-winning medical device design, development and manufacturing partner, ITL Group, invite you to explore a world of endless possibilities at MEDICA 2017 – World Forum for Medicine, in Düsseldorf, Germany.

Read more >

Resource
MEDICA 2017: The Survival Guide

The world’s largest medical trade fair, MEDICA, held in Düsseldorf, Germany takes place from 13-16th November 2017. It remains the top event for decision-makers from all over the world, last year attracting nearly more than 125,000 visitors from 120 nations.

Read more >

Case Study
Endomag

Read how ITL took the SentiMag® system from concept to volume manufacture.

View this case study >

Case Study
Vivacta

Working to develop and prototype a Point-of-Care diagnostic device and microfluidic cartridge.

View this case study >

Services
Message
Contact

Case Studies

Kimal

 

IVantage™ volumetric ambulatory infusion system (3)

Transfer of IVantage™ technology, equipment, IP, and know-how from the US to the UK in preparation for full-scale manufacturing

Overview

Kimal is an innovative and trusted manufacturer and supplier of specialized procedure packs and vascular access devices to hospitals worldwide. The IVantage™ volumetric ambulatory infusion system is their latest device introduction. It is designed to support patients’ ambulatory needs and can be used for patient-controlled analgesia, intermittent infusion, continuous infusion therapy, and parental nutrition.

 

Requirements

Recognizing that their current manufacturing facilities could not support the production of the electronic subsystems within the pump, Kimal decided to transfer all manufacturing activities to the UK.

Kimal approached ITL with the challenge of transferring all technology, manufacturing equipment, intellectual property (IP), and know-how from the US to their UK facilities in preparation for volume manufacture. We had two days to learn as much as possible about the device, identify the equipment and processes required for the transfer and arrange all logistics.

Our production engineering team began setting up the manufacturing work cell in preparation for the transfer. During this time, we identified three potential issues when validating the work cell, including:

Battery performance

To feed or treat a patient continuously overnight, batteries must last for at least 8 hours. Tests carried out identified some falling below this level, and so the battery testing process was fully reviewed. A lengthy investigation identified the cause to be batteries not receiving the necessary reconditioning during storage. We proactively identified testing methods for ‘battery drain and fail’ and learned how to test and resolve the issue.

Emitter functionality

The rotating pump ’emitter’ mechanism propels fluids through a tube to the patient. It is critical that this does not introduce bubbles that could enter the patient’s bloodstream intravenously as it could be fatal. Extremely strict ‘bubble testing’ processes existed in the manufacturing specification to control this; however, the mechanism to test them was not 100% proven. As a result, we developed sophisticated new testing processes and procedures that could successfully identify bubbles down to micron dimensions.

Motherboard

The operation of the on-board microprocessor is fundamental to the safe and correct operation of the Kimal pump. We reviewed the motherboard data available to fully validate the test procedure and implemented enhanced PCB testing. A simple software or control issue such as the pump not switching off as programmed could have disastrous consequences such as the build-up of fatal blood pressure within a sleeping patient.

Results

With ITL managing all aspects of the transfer process, in less than three months, the IVantage™ pump was transported from a US manufacturer to the UK, where we had a designated work cell set up and ready to assemble units. During the first nine months of manufacturing, the IVantage™ pump received EU Medical Device Directive (MDD) Class IIb medical device compliance, triggering a significant ramp-up in volume with just two months of implementation.

During the process, there were many issues. We were extremely aware that this was a safety-critical system, so although the issues were challenging, there was great value in identifying and addressing them. They provided the ideal vehicle to test our qualification process. R&D invested a lot time into reverse-engineering the manufacturing and process equipment, allowing us to expand our knowledge and experience of batteries, motherboards, and test jigs.

 

Other clients we've helped

client-GSK
client-Endomag
client-OrganOx
client-Dysis
client-KCL
client-Dame
client-Momentum
client-Kimal
client-UoB
client-BioPerfectus
client-Exroid
client-magnasense
client-Optos
client-UoN

Discover how we can support your next medical innovation

Whether you’re looking to develop an idea or concept into a commercially viable product, or you need help progressing one specific stage of your project, we can help.

Related Links

About

Contact

Services